top of page
  • Writer's pictureCall + Response

FreeWrite by Lydia Hord

A poem on restraints and freedom. Inspired by the virtual talk panel Seeking Sanctuary | Series One

Photograph by Patrick Tomasso

"FreeWrite"


I use punctuations like


Decorations


They stand


silently

by words

to support

the tone.


Sometimes it's something

LOUD

like


glittery


exclamations

!!!


Shouting

to be heard.


Or it's a whisper quiet

comma,


making your voice pause


for a breath.


Or the stately period that makes

sentences stand still. and brave.


I use punctuations as decorations

because I don't follow rules or

guidebooks when my pen flows.


I write what I hear in my mind and write

what my soul needs to convey,


My Sagittarius spirit does not like to be

confined!

I need

W I D E

o p e n

blank s p a c e s


to write however I please,


To doodle in the margins.

Possibly;


And paint pictures

with letters and symbols

so you can see it all


in your mind.


In my mind there are no symbols to put

my words in

straight

lines.

They are not ordered about like soldiers

blind.

So I will show your tongue

againstteeth

how to speak my words


How my thoughts sound


 

Lydia Hord is a New York-based poet, writer, and visual artist. Hord also works as a facilitator for The Yonkers Writing Group.

bottom of page